There are 6 images added between 7 December 2006 and 7 June 2008
Standard SM-2 Block IV  
Initial Operational Capability (IOC): 1998
Total Production: ?
Also Known As: RIM-156A
Origin: United States of America
Corporations: Raytheon
Parent System: Standard Missile
Initial Operational Capability (IOC): 1970
Total Production: ?
Family Members: Standard SM-1 ER, Standard SM-1 MR, Standard SM-2 Block II, Standard SM-2 Block III, Standard SM-2 Block IIIA, Standard SM-2 Block IIIB, Standard SM-2 Block IVA, Standard SM-3 Block IA, Standard SM-3 Block IB, Standard SM-3 Block IIA, Standard SM-3 Block IIB, Standard SM-4 LASM, Standard SM-6 Block I and Standard SM-6 Block IA
There are no reviews so far

Description: The RIM-66/67 Standard missile were developed as the replacement for Terrier, Talos and Tartar surface-to-air missiles. It is an all-weather, supersonic, ship-launched, medium to long-range fleet air defense missile providing defense for an entire fleet area. There are 5 major types of Standard missiles: the SM-1, SM-2, SM-3, SM-4 and SM-6. The SM-1, SM-2 and SM-6 are air defense missiles, the SM-3 is intended exclusively against medium/long-range ballistic missiles and the SM-4 is a land attack missile. SM-4 development remains uncertain. The baseline Standard, the SM-1 model, was a semi-active radar guided missile while late models incorporate advanced signals processing, GPS, IR-guidance system as well as other refinements. The Standard missile is operational in frigates, destroyers and cruisers of 14 navies all over the world. The First Standard missile was deployed by US Navy's surface ships in 1970.

The Standard SM-2 Block IV missile is the latest version to enter the fleet. In addition of the Mk-104 rocket motor, it features an Mk-72 booster providing extended range capability. The Block IV missile has also been optimized against low radar cross section (RCS) targets in heavy countermeasures environments. The Block IV airframe has been reinforced over preceding models and is only available for AEGIS-equipped fighting ships. The SM-2 Block IV is optimized against short-range ballistic missiles in the terminal phase.

Standard SM-2 Block IV Applications

Fighting Ships CG 47 (VLS) DDG 51 Flight I DDG 51 Flight II DDG 51 Flight IIA Protection Systems AEGIS

Standard SM-2 Block IV Specifications

Number of Stages: 2
Diameter: 350 millimeter (13.8 inch)
Length: 6.58 meter (259 inch)
Wingspan: 920 millimeter (36.2 inch)
Max Range: 360 kilometer (194 nautical mile)
Min Range: 180 kilometer (97 nautical mile)
Weight: 1,450 kilogram (3,197 pound)
CEP: Circular Error Probable
Meters (m)   Kilometers (km)   Nautic Miles (nm)   Inch (in)   Yard (yd)   Foot (ft)   Millimeter (mm)
Pound (lb)   Kilogram (kg)   kN (KiloNewton)   Ton (t)
Meters per Second (mps)   Kilometers per Hour (kph)   Knot (kt)   Miles per Hour (mph)
Liter (l)   Galon (gl)
Year (yr)   Minutes (min)   Second (sec)
Shaft-Horse-Power (shp)

Standard SM-2 Block IV News

There are 11 news between
3 Sep 2004 and 4 Oct 2013
1  2  
Friday, October 4, 2013Aegis BMD 4.0 System Completes Successful Intercept Flight Test
Friday, March 27, 2009Standard Missile-2 Block IV Demonstrates Sea-Based Terminal Fleet Protection
Wednesday, March 18, 2009US Navy Certifies Aegis Ballistic Missile Defense System with Terminal Phase Capability
Friday, September 5, 2008US Navy Conducts Second Test of Standard Missile-6
Friday, June 6, 2008Successful Sea-Based Missile Defense Intercept
Thursday, June 5, 2008Aegis BMD Destroys Ballistic Missile in Terminal Phase Using SM-2 Block IV Missiles
Thursday, July 19, 2007US Navy Takes Delivery of Upgraded Standard Missile 2 Block IV
Monday, February 12, 2007MK 57 Vertical Launching System Tested Successfully
Thursday, May 25, 2006US Navy Conducts Ballistic Missile Terminal Intercept at Sea
Wednesday, April 5, 2006Raytheon Successfully Tests Upgrade Standard Missile-2 Block IV

Operators & Related Equipment


Grand Total ?1
Propulsion Systems
Copyright © 2003-2018 website. All rights reserved.
This website has been optimized for HTML 5 and CSS 3.