A330 MRTT Enters Final Negotiations for British FSTA Program

Released on Monday, January 26, 2004
United Kingdom
FSTA - Future Strategic Tanker Aircraft
MoD - Ministry of Defence
RAF - Royal Air Force
UK - United Kingdom
The British Ministry of Defense (MoD) announced that AirTanker team has been selected as the preferred bidder for the FSTA program and will enter into detailed negotiations for the supply of A330-200 MRTT aircraft.

The Future Strategic Tanker Aircraft (FSTA) is aimed to replace current VC10 Victor and TriStar tanker and transport aircraft fleet operated by the Royal Air Force (RAF). The airborne platform selected to meet the FSTA program is Airbus A330-200 commercial aircraft modified under EADS MultiRole Tanker Transport (MRTT) initiative.

The AirTanker consortium consists of EADS, Rolls-Royce, Cobham and Thales UK. According to the MoD, final negotiations to validate AirTanker proposal could likely take a number of months.

AirTanker consortium would own and maintain the FSTA fleet and provide training services as well, while the RAF will be responsible for military operations. The bargain could allow AirTanker to make use of FSTAs in peacetime to generate additional income through commercial use, when not required by the RAF.

The FSTA program total cost including logistics support and related services is £13 billion (approx. $23.2 billion) during an estimated period of 27 years. The FSTA would enter service with the RAF in 2008 and by 2012 is expected to have replaced current VC10 and TriStar fleet.

EADS A310-based MRTT solution was selected by Germany and Canada for their air forces. Totaling 6 A310 MRTT aircraft. The British A330-200 MRTT will be fitted with Rolls-Royce Trent engines and will be able to carry up to 111 tons of fuel or up to 300 personnel in the cargo/transport configuration.

The total number of A330-220 MRTTs to be procured by the United Kingdom has not been disclosed yet.


Copyright © 2003-2017 deagel.com website. All rights reserved.
This website has been optimized for HTML 5 and CSS 3.